Always choose adventures over studying

Hey guys,

 

So I’m way behind on my blogging I was planning to blog once a week…. and here I am seven weeks later with the next post. Opps. Well this semester was going along just fine and then one day it just turned crazy, hectic and demanding! That’s what I’ve been doing in my free time I do homework, study, do a couple more assignments, read a few more things and still free like I have tons of things to learn. Any who i just finished my final exam for the summer semester and only a practice board exam stands between me and two weeks on freedom and soaking up the last of the summer sun! 

 

This weekend I did a pretty good job at soaking up the summer sun with my love. It was a totally unplanned adventure (like most of the trips we take.) I was super hesitant to even leave my house because I had tons of studying to do but David doesn’t get many weekends off in the summer because it’s their busy season. David got home from work around 5:15 pm on Friday night. He said, “Well babe, what’s the plan?” It didn’t take me long to decide we were defiantly going somewhere but my textbooks and flashcards were coming along for the ride. I said, “I don’t have one but let’s start packing!!” After forty-five minutes of running around the house throwing snack foods into a bag, clothes into a duffel bag, and blankets into a laundry basket I established we were ready to leave. David packed the camper up and camping chairs. I sent my mom a picture of the truck, kayaks, and camper. Then, I called her and asked the her to check on the little fluff ball and the pool! By 6 o’clock we were down the road kickin’ stones! 

 

We ended up in Port Austin but… the Cheeseburger festival was going on in Caseville so we drove to the next campground out of town. David thought the campground too crowded and there weren’t trees so onward we went… The next campground was right on Lake Huron AND it had trees so we set up shop at 9 pm only to find we rushed out of the house and didn’t have a lighter but there was a gas station right up the road so no worries we had a bonfire, spent some quality time chatting and went to bed!

 

The next morning I woke up to David rustling around a plastic bag. I woke up all sleepy and grumpily said, “what time is it?” He being all bright-eyed bushy tailed and alert quickly respond 7!!!! (Ugh that’s the time I agreed to get up… better than 6 am right?!) I am not a morning person but man of man was the sunrise gorgeous and peaceful!!! 

 

This started the day off perfect. We got coffee and drove around for the morning until the rest of the world woke up. It was perfect! We walked on the beach and the board walk and found a lighthouse tour in Harbor Beach. 

  
 

Then, we made our way to Port Austin and surprise, surprise there was farmer’s market. Bonus my day just got even better!!! We walked through the farmer’s market hand in hand, had lunch, and then we found my long lost friend Beth!!! We lived next to each other in college! We found a sweet antique shop (would you expect anything less from me 😉 Next, we took a little tour of her adorable house and I finally meet her fiance who I’ve only heard about for the last three years! 

 

After that we headed back to the campground for some kayaking and studying!! 

  

Beth and Mike came over and brought a whole bunch of food we ate, hot dogs, cheeseburgers, shish kabobs and corn on the cob! It was so nice to hang out with them and finally getting to know Mike!! We will be back to visit again for sure!!!! Good times, good friends and the great lakes. 🙂 

   

Leave a Reply

